Environmental Zones in Germany – Low Emission Zones in Europe

Low Emission Zones in Europe

Environmental Zones in Germany – Low Emission Zones in Europe

Motorhome travel in Europe

More than 200 cities and towns in 10 countries around Europe already have in place, or are preparing to launch, ‘Low Emission Zones’ (LEZ) – areas where the most polluting vehicles are regulated in some way. Vehicles may be banned or in some cases charged if they enter the LEZ when their emissions are over a set level.Environmental Zones in Germany -

For detailed information

www.lowemissionzones.eu is a publicly funded, regularly updated website (in English), run on behalf of a network of LEZ cities and government departments across Europe to provide all the information drivers and operators will need.

Besides Maps showing the location of all Low emission zones and detailed requirements on a city-by-city basis Low Emission Zones in Europe also contains background information about the reasons for implementing Low Emission Zones.

 Environmental Zones in Germany

German lawmakers passed the 2006 law after Germany failed to meet EU pollution standards for fine particulates (Feinstaub). Three German cities (Berlin, Cologne, Hanover) first introduced restricted environmental zones in January 2008. Since then, more and more cities and towns all across Germany have been added to the list of places that have Umweltzonen, and that list will grow in coming years.

Here is a partial list of some of the cites that have already initiated the zones:

Berlin, Hannover, Köln, Dortmund (Brackeler Straße), Ilsfeld, Leonberg, Ludwigsburg, Mannheim, Reutlingen, Schwäbisch-Gmünd, Stuttgart, Tübingen, Pleidelsheim, Bochum, Bottrop, Dortmund, Duisburg, Essen, Frankfurt am Main, Gelsenkirchen, Mülheim an der Ruhr, München, Oberhausen, Recklinghausen, Augsburg, Bremen, Herrenberg, Karlsruhe, Nürnberg, Pforzheim, Ulm, Dresden, Freiburg (Breisgau), Heidelberg, Mühlacker, Dresden, Wuppertal

Here is a partial list of some of the cites that plan zones in 2011:

Bonn, Freiburg (Breisgau), Heidelberg, Münster, Pfinztal, Osnabrück

The following cities plan zones but have not yet set a fixed date:

Braunschweig, Darmstadt, Dresden, Gera, Jena, Kassel, Magdeburg, Regensburg, Nürnberg, Ruhrgebiet-Großumweltzone

Cities to have zones sometime in the future:

Arnsbach, Arzberg, Aschersleben, Bayreuth, Bernau, Brandenburg an der Havel, Burgdorf, Burghausen, Castrop-Rauxel, Chemnitz, Cottbus, Eberswalde, Erfurt, Erwitte, Frankfurt an der Oder, Görlitz, Halle (Saale), Hambach, Hamburg, Ingolstadt, Itzehoe, Kassel, Krefeld, Lahn-Dill, Landshut, Lindau, Ludwigshafen, Lutherstadt Wittenberg, Mainz, Mühlheim an der Ruhr, Nauen, Neuruppin, Neuwied, Neuss, Passau, Potsdam, Rhein-Main, Schwandorf, Speyer, Trier, Warstein, Weiden, Weimar, Worms, Wuppertal, Würzburg.

You’ll find a continually updated list of cities with current and planned environmental zones at www.umwelt-plakette.de/int_england.php

Those with foreign plated cars who may be driving to Germany may also order the sticker from this site. The information is in English.

A good site in English with an extensive FAQ section on the Environmental Zones can be found at www.tuev-nord.de.

Low Emission Zones (LEZ) germany